Our Leadership

Our Staff

Dawn Truax, custodian

Steve Johnson, pianist

Our Pastor

The Rev. Randy Burwell

Pastor's Beliefs and Ministry


Rev. Dr. Frank J. Beard

Illinois Great Rivers Conference Episcopal Leader

The United Methodist Church is divided into regional units called “annual conferences,” so named because its clergy and lay people meet annually.  Each annual conference is led by a bishop.  We are in the Illinois Great Rivers Conference, which covers all of central and southern Illinois (south of I-80).

     Bishop Frank J. Beard was elected to the episcopal office in 2016 and assigned to IGRC that year.  Prior to his election he served as an ordained Elder in the Indiana annual conference.  Bishop Beard is a gifted preacher and teacher.  He has a passion for Jesus Christ that is contagious.  His primary focus is encouraging churches to be “on fire for Jesus.”  His life quote is, “I want to be so full of Jesus that when a mosquito bites me it will fly away humming ‘there is power in the blood’!”

     Bishop Beard is married to Melissa and has two adults daughters: Eleanor and Emily, and three grandchildren: Maya, Elijah, and Stanton.  Bishop Beard is an avid fisherman and loves to tell stories about his fishing adventures.

Our District Superintendent

Rev. Bradley Watkins

Sangamon River District (Springfield area) Presiding Elder

Every annual conference is subdivided into districts.  Our Illinois Great Rivers Conference has 10.  Each district is overseen by a presiding Elder.  We are in the Sangamon River District based in Springfield.

     D.S. Bradley Watkins II was appointed by Bishop Beard to the SRD effective January 1, 2020.

     A native of Peoria, IL, Watkins is the son of retired pastor, the Rev. Bradley F. Watkins, who served as the Champaign-area District Superintendent from 1991 to 1998.  He is a graduate of Wiley College, a historically black college and Gammon Theological Seminary.  He was commissioned as a probationary member in 1987 and ordained an Elder in the former Central Illinois Conference in 1991.

     In addition to serving several churches, Watkins also served four years at Lessie Bates Davis Neighborhood House in East St. Louis.

“Watkins has been an effective bridge builder everywhere he has served and I am confident in his leadership skills and ability and know him as a godly man and servant of Christ and the Church,” says Bishop Beard.

Our Leadership Roster - 2021

The Church Council

representing the functions of:    Trustees / Staff-Parish Relations (partial) / Finance

meets on the first Wednesday; monthly – 7:00 pm

Pastor:                                          Rev. Randy Burwell
Council Chair:                              Steve (1)
Trustees Chair:                             John (1) 
Finance Chair:                              Max (3)
Staff-Parish Relations Chair:     Max (3)

Church Treasurer:                                             Bernadine (1)
Financial Secretary:                                           Maggie (2)
Council Secretary:                                              Janell (1) 
Leadership Development/Nominations:      Carlotta (1)
Lay Leader:                                                         Janell (1)

Ministry Team (N.O.W.)

meets on the first Wednesday; monthly – 6:00 pm

N.urturing Coordinator:            Bonnie
Pastor:                                          Rev. Randy

O.utreach Coordinator:            Sandy
Lay Leader:                                 Janell

W.itness Coordinator:            Debbie

Worship Team

meets as needed on Thursday evenings

Pastor:                                          Rev. Randy
At-large:                                       Bonnie
Liturgist/Singer:                         Maggie

Pianist:                                                 Steve
Communion:                                       Sharon
Liturgist/Singer:                                  John

Lay Leader/Liturgist/Singer:            Janell
Sound/Projection:                              David

Leadership Development and Nominations

meets annually or as needed

                  FINAL YEAR (2021) (1)
Vice Chair:                                  
At-large:                                       Nancy

                FINAL YEAR (2022) (2)
At-large:                                       Margaret
Lay Leader:                                  Janell

               FINAL YEAR (2023) (3)
At-large:                                       Sandy
Pastor:                                          Rev. Randy

Combined Staff-Parish Relations Committee

Four members from EUMC and four members from SUMC shall serve on a COMBINED S-PRC; they are each picked by their respective Nominations Committees.  NOTE: here and elsewhere, the numbers in parenthesis refer to the 3-year term (1 = last year to serve; etc.)
quarterly or as needed

                      EDINBURG UMC
1. S-PRC Chair:                                  
 Max (1)
2. S-PRC Vice Chair:                          Bonnie (2)
3. Lay Leader:                                    Janell (1)
4. At-large:                                        Glenn (3)

                  STONINGTON UMC
1. S-PRC Chair:                                Rebecca
2. S-PRC Vice Chair:                        Leslie
3. Lay Leader:                                  Rita
4. At-large:                                       Cynthia

Other Important Leaders

S-PRC Vice Chair:                                          Bonnie (2)
Trustees Vice Chair:                                     Margaret (3)
Finance Vice Chair:                                      Margaret (3)
Council Vice Chair:                                       Maggie (1)
Trustees Treasurer:                                     Sandy (3)
UMW President:                                           Debbie
UMM President:                                           Randy, contact (3)
Funeral Dinner Coordinator:                     Maggie
Memorial Fund:                                           Maggie (1)
Church Auditing:                                         Margaret (1) / Carlotta (1)
Historians:                                                    Treva (3) / Josie (2)
Prayer Coordinator:                                   __________________ 

Membership Secretary:                                 Maggie (1)
Benevolence Fund:                                     Sandy, contact (3) / Maggie (2)
Communion Stewardess:                              Sharon (1)
Recording Secretary for Charge Conf.:      Carlotta (1)
Lay Member to Annual Conference:           Janell (1)
Alternate Lay Member to A.C.:                    Jeannine (SUMC) (1)
Church School Coordinator:                        Nancy (3)
Child Advocate:                                              Debbie (3)
Camping Coordinator:                                  Josie (2)
Offering Counters:                                        Bernadine (1) / Maggie (2) /  
                                                                          Margaret (3) / Carlotta (3)